André Boehman to be honored with Colwell Merit Award

Photo Info

Andre Boehman
March 16, 2011

André Boehman, professor of fuel science and materials science and engineering, has been selected to receive the 2009 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award in recognition of a technical paper he co-authored, "An Experimental Investigation of the Origin of Increased NOx Emissions when Fueling a Heavy-Duty Compression-Ignition Engine with Soy Biodiesel." The paper was published in the October 2009 issue of SAE International Journal of Fuels and Lubricants. SAE International will present him with the award at its 2011 World Congress event on April 12.

This award was established by Arch T. Colwell to recognize authors of outstanding papers presented at SAE meetings. Papers are judged for their value as contributions to existing knowledge of mobility engineering, and primarily with respect to their value as an original contribution to the subject matter. Award winning papers are selected from the many papers which were published for SAE meetings during 2009.

The paper's lead author was Charles J. Mueller, Sandia National Laboratories. Co-authors included André Boehman and Glen C. Martin, Sandia National Laboratories. Last year the paper received the 2009 SAE John Johnson Award for Outstanding Research in Diesel Engines.